Unexpectedly jumping into real estate photography - seeking advice!

DaveAndHolly219

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I would like to preface this post by saying that I am not a professional photographer. I am a hobbyist.

With that said, a coworker of mine who has seen my work gave my name and contact info to a friend of hers who owns and rents homes and apartments locally. He contacted me requesting my services to take photos of the properties as they become available for rent. I informed him I am not a full-time pro photographer and while I’m sure I can take acceptable photos for him, I am by no means an experienced real estate photographer. He said he’s ok with that and is more than willing to work with me as long as I provide quality work (which I’m confident I can do). It would be a long-term ongoing assignment as units become available for rent. He wants interior shots of all of the rooms in each unit, and for houses, exterior shots as well.

Here are my questions.

1. I shoot a Nikon D7000. I will definitely need to get a wide angle lens for the interior shots, as my widest lens I currently own is a 17-50mm. Recommendations for a wide lens? I’ll start by renting one and purchase one soon with funds obtained from these jobs.

2. Pricing. I have no idea how I would go about presenting pricing for this. Charge per apartment/unit? Per room? Per day? I’m at a loss here and I don’t want to over or under price myself for this.

3. Lighting for interior shots. I’m leaning toward natural light and long exposures if necessary, since I will absolutely be shooting on a tripod anyway for this type of work. I do have speedlights and umbrellas as well if needed, though.

4. Any other tips you may be able to offer for someone jumping into real estate photography for the first time?
Thanks in advance for any and all input!

1. (no recommendation)