Unhappy customers...

fotomama

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
It's happened- my first unhappy customer. I'm fairly new in the wedding business (my second "wedding season" and wedding #12...) and would probably be considered a "budget photog". I recently shot an hourly job and just received a call from bride's parents informing me that they are unhappy. To be perfectly honest, the photos are not my best, but I do think they are good. Some processional shots are out of focus (my error) but ones of bride and bridal party are great. I'm not sure what to do. Nothing? Partial refund? (And how would I determine that?) Any suggestions?

Well I am not a professional but if it was me I would offer them a free session for any photo session they want. Maybe an outdoor session or a first child, etc. Good Luck with the angry parents ;)

I'm sorry to hear that:( I think you should for sure ask them specifically what it is that they are unhappy with. Maybe you could figure out what percentage of the shots they didn't like and give them a similar percentage of a refund? Although, if it were me, I'd try to figure out a way to make them happy before giving a refund. (If possible, of course).
I'd love to hear what the more established wedding photogs have to say about this.

Hopefully some of the tried and true wedding photographers will come in here - but from what I have read, 'budget photographers' are the most likely to receive customers who are looking for a good deal, and are also the most likely to be the most picky.
Do you have a contract that states what the consequence of quality images (as determiend by your portfolio probably) not being delivered? If not, that is pretty rocky ground.
On one hand you don't want to give their money back - as you are now going to appear unprofessional, and the word will get out to other brides-to-be looking for a good deal.