Unsure of which camera

Glassjaw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am somewhat new to photography. I have messed around with friend's small P&S cameras and have gotten good results, and am looking at DSLR's. I have been studying and looking at the Olympus E-500 mainly, and it interests me but I have some quarrels with what the reviews are saying. I am aware that the main prosumer cameras are the Nikon D50/70, E-3/500 and Cannon 350D.

I am not sure which to pick, and as said earlier am mainly interested in the E-500. I know I will be taking photos of a friends band for promo shots as well as live photography, so a higher ISO will not mix well with the E-500 which is what I am worried about. Although, on the other hand I really do like the idea of very rarely, if ever, having to clean the sensor.

I'm sure you all get this question quite often; I have read all the reviews over and over but simply want some re-assurance and other opinions. So: (Aside from which feels better in my hand) "Which camera would you all suggest?"

You've answered your own question really. You're going to be doing a lot of high ISO work, and the only camera in the lineup which doesn't do that as well as the others is the Olympus.

The Canon and Nikon systems have a broader range of choice, and they are generally cheap lenses.

Sensor cleaning is one of those things really. It's probably not the biggest factor for many people in choosing a camera, so I would only count is as a bonus, not a decider.

If you're shooting only gigs, then the obvious choices are the Nikon and Canon as they have a better range of medium distance, wide aperture zooms and primes. Between the two... toss a coin. However, if you only occasionally do a gig, then it sounds like you like the Olympus.

Rob