(Unusual?) Question Regarding Film Negatives

Markus712

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm putting together a video installation involving B&W film negatives. My plan is to melt, dissolve, distort these negatives in some way. I have some experience in regards to processing and developing, but I can't seem to think of a chemical that would work best.

So I am hoping someone will be able to help me! Basically, I don't know if I best method of approach would be heat (either using a hair dryer or some form of fire) or if there is some chemical that I could simply drop onto the negatives.

If anyone could offer any suggestions I would be appreciative. I realize this is an unusual question but my final undergraduate project depends on it! =)

Thanks!
:D

heat would work, something like a lighter would melt the film

The rest i am guessing. Im a chemist so its probably a good guess, but i dont know for sure

Acetone would probably melt the plastic base. I've accidently melted a calculator with acetone before....
you can get Acetone in nail polish remover though its not very concentrated and would probably take alot of soaking

If you can get DCM, that might also melt the film base. However DCM (Dichloromethane) is cancerous and not publically available. I work with it alot in my job but i have proper protection. If your at a university, the chemistry department would have tons of it. IF you explained what you were doing im sure you could find someone who could help you use this stuff in a safe environment. If you do ask a chemist, you could aslo get your hands on some pure acetone.

lastly (also involving a trip to the chem department)
Hydrogen sulfide (an acid) will tarnish silver metal. Possibly it would tarnish the silver on the film negative (I dont know what it would do to the plastic base)
I believe Nitric acid will also dissolve silver but again i dont know what it will do to the plastic base.