Upgrade to 7d? Accessories or new lens?

Lor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've had a canon rebel Xti for 3 years now. I have a canon EFS 18-200mm lens and a canon EF 70-200mm 1:28 L IS/USM lens. I shoot mostly sports photography-outdoor lacrosse and soccer, indoors college swimming. I also enjoy travel photography, I'll be taking my camera on a trip to China next month. Finally, I've recently been shooting theater productions for local theater groups during their dress rehearsals...with very bad lighting. I'm a complete amateur, but I'm enthusiastic and want to learn and do more. I've been thinking about upgrading to a Canon 7d. Any suggestions? A 7d will stretch my budget, I can't go beyond that. How about accessories? Should I have a lens extender? If I get a 7d should I invest in a battery grip? I have one on my xti. I'm thinking about upgrading for speed. Often my xti slows me down as it "freezes" while processing (it says "busy" on the display), especially in bad light. I appreciate suggestions and advice. Thanks in advance.

Just a question but when you are shooting in bad light is the popup flash being used? An external flash would give you much more power and faster recharge than the popup on the camera.

In the end the choice is very much going to depend on what you feel is the bigger weakness in your setup; an 18-200mm lens isn't the optically best option out there and you could consider adding one or two more lenses into that focal range for travel to allow you a greater quality over those focal ranges instead of a new camera body