Upgrade to T3i or T5i?

ab10

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello! I am trying to decide what camera to upgrade to (or even if I SHOULD upgrade).

I currently have the Canon XS and the 2 kit lenses. I will definitely be buying a new lens that is 18-250 because I travel a lot and don't want to carry an extra lens around and miss the perfect shot because I was switching lenses.

In your opinion, is the T3i a good choice for an upgrade? Is the T3i outdated? Or should I spring for the T5i? I'm not (technically) on a budget, however dishing out all this money is going to hurt just a little.

Or if I get the 18-250 lens will it work OK with my current XS?

I'm no expert at photography. I am just now trying out shooting outside of the auto mode.

Any and all advice is welcome and highly appreciated!

Ok, so forget about the T3i, T5i, etc. Just sit down and ask yourself this question:

My photography would be better if my camera could ________________

Then make a list of things that your current camera can't do that would make things easier in the types of shooting situations you find yourself in most often.

For example, I shoot mostly at moving critters, so for me I might put "shoot more frames per second" in that blank. But sit down and think about that, and make a wish list of the most important improvements that you can think of that you feel will make getting good photographs easier in the situations you find yourself in most often when you shoot.

Then once you have that list, put them in order of priority - then we can look at that list, present you with a list of options that will best fit it, and then at that point you can decide whether or not those improvements might be worth the price of an upgrade.

As a preface, I just want to remind you again that I'm not that savvy when it comes to terms and photography.... I don't know if the problem is my camera, my lens, or my (lack of) photo editing program.....

1. I would like my pictures to be more "crisp".