Upgrade to ...?

redroanphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i currently shoot with a Canon Rebel xti, im looking to move on to do more of a semi-pro type of photography. my main use for my camera is photographing horse shows, where lighting isnt always the best, yet i still need very sharp and clear photos. i want to stick with canon cameras. suggestions?

Welcome to the forum.

What lens (or lenses) do you have now?

If you don't already have some good lenses, your money will be much better spent on getting a good lens, than it would on getting a new camera.
The best part of the Rebel series of cameras, is that they can use the same lenses that the Professional Canon cameras can use.

If you still think you need to upgrade the camera, look at the 50D or the new 7D.

yeah my lenses are in desprate need of an upgrade, they are off my old 35mm canon rebel (film) camera. i was most likely going to update my lens to a tamaron 28-300mm. im new at this, but its something i am seriously geting into.

i was most likely going to update my lens to a tamaron 28-300mm
I wouldn't really consider than much of an 'upgrade'.

Since you will be shooting is less than perfect lighting, a 'fast' lens (large maximum aperture) would really help you. Some affordable options are the 50mm F1.8 and the 85mm F1.8. They are prime (non zoom) lenses, but the large max aperture will allow you to get much faster shutter speeds, which should be really helpful when shooting indoor horse shows.

heres the problem, i need to have a wide range of zoom cause most of the time im shooting pictures from across the ring (up to 300ft away)

The trouble with lenses that have that wide of a zoom range...is that there are compromises and the image quality is usually rather poor compared to other lenses. Also, they usually have small maximum apertures (especially at the long end of the zoom)...which makes it hard to get the shutter speeds that you need.