Upgrading Advice

regdawg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I currently have the Canon T2i and have been interested in upgrading. I've been looking at the Canon T5i and the Canon 70D. Anyone have any experience with these cameras? I'm just wondering if there is a significant upgrade in picture/video quality and/or camera options from the T2i to any of these. I know the Canon 70D has the wifi option which is a plus but debating if its worth paying the extra $$$ for that. I'm an amateur photographer. Mainly take pictures of vacations, special occasions, our kids, etc. I don't mess with manual settings to much but I should learn.

Any advice/opinions are appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

The T2i and T5i have the same sensor. No real differences in quality between the two, so that isn't worth it really.
Why do you want to upgrade? The T2i is still a very capable and flexible camera!

The T2i and T5i have the same sensor. No real differences in quality between the two, so that isn't worth it really.
Why do you want to upgrade? The T2i is still a very capable and flexible camera!
As Ido said T2i and T5i share a sensor so you will get same IQ.
70D is a step up from the T2i but from what it looks like, for you this upgrade will be pointless, the T2i is good enough for you, if you want to improve your pictures my advise is to you is learn how to take camera out of the AUTO mode, shoot RAW and maybe get some better lenses.

Would anyone happen to have suggestions on glass? Are the Sigma lenses good? Would like to have a decent zoom as well.

I have the T4i and recently purchased the 70D. Very happy with the quality. I looked at the 7D and the 6D, but I shoot mostly video and liked the features of the 70D.