Upgrading from g1x mark ii

tnaeht

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a hobby photographer -always used canon. Started with easiest compact zooms but wants more and mire from the camera. Since a few years now my favorite camera is G1x Mark ii with its goog sensor giving me high quality in less good light situations and in ordinary photos. Even aurora shooting is ok. Still complete though with a Powershot SX60 hs in need for better zoom or sports photography (in good light).
BUT now I want more. Want a camera with good shooting in less light, even with zoom and sporty objects.
Think it might be a camerahouse with separate objectives, but know nothing about that.
Don't want to downgrade in quality - and searching around I stumble on very expensive system cameras and objectives - is it worth that?
Please give me some advice!
Shooting sports outdoors and indoors, concerts, nature, views and animals, family, portrait, aurora borealis and night skies...

Shooting sports outdoors and indoors, concerts, nature, views and animals, family, portrait, aurora borealis and night skies...

There are a lot of options here....

You didn't mention a budget but I'll start by suggesting the Canon EOS 80D and for a few reasons.

I do a lot of astro-photography. This is an area where ideally the camera sensor can deal with high ISO and still keep the digital noise levels relatively low. That's normally the domain of "full frame" sensor cameras (such as the 1D series, 5D series, and 6D bodies) but the 80D is probably the most significant boost to performance to this area in some years for any Canon camera with an APS-C size sensor.

So on your list of needs, you can check the box that says "aurora borealis and night skies". Concerts may also fall into this category.