Use a TTL flash Manually ...

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by elrafo, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Hello there,


    I have a SB-600 but would like to use it with my old Hassy. I have the sync stuff, my concern is more how to calculate exposure, power of my flash.
    In the old ones I could read distance according to Iso/F-stop, how does it work with this brand new flash without buying a expensive flash metter ?

    thanks!
  2. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,523
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,731 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    It does have a manual mode, doesn't it?

    At full power, it has a Guide Number of 30m at ISO 100 (at 35mm zoom head position).

    To calculate exposure, divide your guide number by the distance to the subject, to get the aperture value. So at 3.75m distance to your subject, you would use F8 (with ISO 100 and flash at 35mm zoom and full power).
    Adjust accordingly for different variables.
  3. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    sure it has manual mode!
    thanks a lot for your advice.
    Can we say that with 400 Iso 120 m? seems wiered to me...
  4. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,523
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,731 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Not quite. Light fall off is an inverse square to the distance, so as the distance doubles, the light drops to 1/4.

    Do you have a DSLR camera? You could use that to test your flash exposure before using up film in the Hassy.
  5. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    oh thanks that's more complex indeed. I would love to know if it is possible to find a chart table with distance on this flash, there is not such of things in the manual.
  6. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,523
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,731 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    It might be built into the display...check that out.
  7. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Get a light meter. There is no histograms on a Hassy and the integrated meter cannot meter a flash.

    Meters can go from $50 on up. Then there is NO guessing. ;)
  8. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Hey ;)

    this could look stupid but I never used a meter with flash, only for ambiant lighting, I have a lunasix III S, is it useful also for flash photography ??
    I guess you mean flash meter but I never used this kind of tools...
  9. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    http://www.marquis-kyle.com.au/Lunasix3.pdf

    http://www.gossen-photo.de/english/...six3.html,picts/navi_foto_sub_01_lunasix3.gif


    I do not think so, it looks to be a reflection/incident light meter. You need the ones that can tell you the highest point touched after a flash and hold that position automatically. Yours will tell you what the light is as long as you hold it "on" and by the time you react to a flash, its gone up... and down.

    Now I am not an expert on this unit, so of course I could be wrong.
  10. reg
    Offline

    reg New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stuck inside of Mobile with the GTFO Blues Again
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Why not use the guide number for free?
  11. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I could if I had a table with correspondances between Iso - f/stop - flash power.
    Can I calculate with the Guide number what will be my limit distance on a TMAX 400 Iso with an 8 aperture ?
  12. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Because there are variations from flash to flash, you are kinda guessing then.

    If you do not want to get a meter, why not use your D200 in manual mode to get a "feel" of what settings are good at what apertures, write that down and use that as the basis for starting points? Just take a pic and when well defined, write down the settings and transfer those settings to your Hassy. ;)

    I would trust that more than using the guide numbers from the manual.
  13. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Jerry, I would sure use my D200 if I still have it ;)
    as I am selling it, I may need another solution to tweak my exposure!
  14. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Back to solution #1... $30-$150 for a good light meter (perhaps check out a few local pawn shops?). Besides a photographer that is interested in learning about light and ultimately guessing somewhat less should have one. :)

    I have an old (but very accurate) Honeywell meter from my father's days and my next one will be the Sekonic 358-L meter (already ordered, should be arriving within a week or so).

    Since we live relatively closer to each other, if you want to look at the Sekonic meter once mine arrives, we could arrange to get together for a coffee somewhere and you could try out out yourself and see if this is something you find interesting or not. I'll leave that up to you (puis mon francais n'est pas si pire pour une anglo). :)
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  15. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Hey,

    I already have a very good meter (the Lunasix 3S) but what I need now is a flash meter. Sekonic is really good but a bit expensive for my budget, do you have any recomandations for used meters? I found good deals with Minolta on ebay...
  16. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,523
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,731 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Minolta flash meters (the later ones anyway) were said to be pretty good and not too expensive.
  17. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Minoltas are more than fine. Whatever you decide on, just check out the model number with a fast search on the net, you can get some opinions and a better idea of what to expect.

    As far as where to look, check out some of the pawn shops in the east end of Montreal, there are about 3-4 down there in that area as I recall... yellow pages to find exact addresses and numbers. I saw one in Montreal north about 4 months ago... I would not think it was there anymore, there were 2 kids looking at it at the time.

    The Sekonic is a little higher up on the price list, somewhere in the midrange as far as meters go now a days, but it is an ambient meter and a flash meter a built-in, with a retractable, incident Lumisphere (for quick comparisons of wide to narrow angles). It does what I need... and if I ever get into the Pocket Wizard thing, there is an optional module that can trigger the PWs from the meter wirelessly.
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  18. elrafo
    Offline

    elrafo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    montreal
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    sorry again for this beginner question,
    does the Flash Meters work with new iTTL flashes? I don't have any cord/plug on my SB600 and I am wondering if it still works without plugging the flash meter on the flash itself... I see you can have sync cables plugged on the Minolta Meters, why ?

    thanks!
  19. Tiberius47
    Offline

    Tiberius47 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    You would only use a flash meter with manual flash. If the flash/camera combo is using iTTL flash metering, then I guess you could still meter it, but you wouldn't be able to control the flash output more than using FEC.
  20. Mike_E
    Offline

    Mike_E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,248
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +248 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    How about a piece of graph paper, a calculator and a pen and just make your own table?

    Heck, if you make up 10 of them you'll have it memorized and won't need to keep up with it. :)

Share This Page