User, settings or technical issue (focus)

Passed_Pawn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all. I'm a novice photographer. I just like to take pics of my kids and that's really it. I've noticed that a lot of pics don't seem as sharp as I feel they should be. An example is available in the link below. This is typical of the results of my snapshots, but not always. I'm trying to get sharper images more consistently.

The pic at the link below was shot as follows:
Canon 60D
Iso 800
f5
1/125th
47mm
Exposure comp -0.33
Shutter priority mode
AF single
Focus point was placed on the subjects ear. Subject wasn't moving much at time of shutter release.

Focus point seems to be the area with least focus. Overall image is fuzzy Imo. Does it seem from the example to be user error, or is my autofocus malfunctioning? Am I expecting too much? Perhaps it's acceptably sharp given the settings? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

https://flic.kr/p/MUhQNE

It looks acceptable to me. Why don't you try using it in AV (aperture value) and allow it to set the shutter for you. I would think you could even safely bump the ISO up to 1280 or so with that camera and not have much noise which would allow a bit faster shutter speed depending on what aperture you choose. Looks like f5 was a good choice for that setting. Keep the exposure comp at 0. What metering mode are you using? And what focus point type are you using? The picture honestly doesn't look that bad.

Part of the issue you're having with the photo is the flat lighting, such that the boy does not stand out very well from the background.

The ISO setting also isn't helping because there is subtle image noise that is making the photo feel less than sharp.
The negative exposure compensation didn't help with the ISO issue, and unless you have quite good camera holding technique the shutter speed was a bit to slow to control camera shake.

Using some flash would have helped a lot - in several ways.