Using a teleconverter with a 70-300 lens?

jack58

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
moskovita-photography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Has anyone here used a teleconverter with the Nikkor 70-300mm VR?
If so, what brand and type did you use and what is your opinion.
I've never used a teleconverter before and was curious as I might try it while I'm saving up for a longer lens.

It can be done, but there are issues to consider.

The main issue is that a teleconverter will steal some light. A 1.4X will steal about a stop and a 2X about two stops.

Now when you consider that a 70-300mm lens only has a max aperture of F5.6 (at 300mm) you will be hard pressed to get good shutter speeds because your effective maximum aperture will be F8 or F11.

And along with that, most cameras need at least F5.6 for the AF system to get enough light. So when your effective maximum is F8 or F11, it's very likely that the camera won't be able to auto focus.

...which, in effect, means that you'll have to go to 800 or 1600 ISO in broad daylight and end up with results that make you less than happy. I tried with a Canon 2x converter and my Sigma 70-300 and was not impressed. Well, at first, upon looking through and seeing how close I got, I was. But when I actually saw the photos I had taken, I wasn't any longer.

The other issue is that you will have to use a 3rd party TC as Nikon TCs will not fit that lens.

It can be done, but there are issues to consider.

The main issue is that a teleconverter will steal some light. A 1.4X will steal about a stop and a 2X about two stops.

Now when you consider that a 70-300mm lens only has a max aperture of F5.6 (at 300mm) you will be hard pressed to get good shutter speeds because your effective maximum aperture will be F8 or F11.