using filters

SimplyMo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
well, i'm ready to start playing around with filters...

but what im not sure about, and this may seem very basic, is---
what is the difference between : step-up rings, step-down rings, and adapter rings ??

i've never used filters before.. i want to experiment with altering colors in an image, starting with just b&w film.. so im hoping that i may be able to just purchase some sort of filter kit with gelatin filters..

therefor i would need to buy a filter holder, and adapter ring..is that right??

my lens diameter is 58mm..

so i guess all im wondering is, which type of ring do i need for the filter holder? step-up? step-down? or adapter?
and would i just need a 3x3 filter holder?

i hope this makes sense:blushing:

Seems to me that, if you are wanting to go with the square filter (which I get that impression because you mention the 3x3 filter holder), then you want need any of the rings. The filter holder should place the filter infront of any size lens you have. Of course, I've never used square filters, so there may be something with their attachment points that I don't know of.

As for what the rings are:
Step-Up ring allows for the attachment of a larger filter to your lens. For instance, a step-up ring of 55mm-62mm will allow you to use a 62mm filter on a 55mm threaded lens.
Step-down ring does the exact opposite of a step-up ring.
Adapter ring allows you to attach a different mount lens to your camera.

on edit:
After a bit more looking around, it looks like there are adapter rings that are used to attached the square filter holder to the lens. By looking at some of the images, it looks to me like you would need an adapter ring for all of your lens sizes. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will post up soon.

Last edited:
so basically the step-up and step-down rings are also "filter holders"? except you use circle filter?