Using flash outdoors to remove shadows

gossamer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I have a D500 with the 24-70mm VRII and an SB700 and brought together a bunch of friends to take pictures of their kids. It was a bright day, but also lots of really harsh shadows. I'm an amateur, but not a complete novice. I do have trouble with flash, however.

My goals were as follows:

- Use flash to get rid of harsh shadows
- Keep depth-of-field short (2.8/3.5) to blur background
- Be close enough to subject to create a nice profile picture

The picture below is mostly what I ended up with that day.
DSC3244_Harrison30.jpg

I was shooting at ISO100, and even with -3.0 flash compensation and shutter speed of 1/250th with flash, I couldn't figure out how to get rid of the shadows without washing out the subject entirely. This is f/5.6, ISO100, 1/250th, 60mm. This picture is straight out of camera - I usually do some photoshop adjustments, but this is to show exactly what I'm talking about.

Is this even possible? Do I need some type of ND filter? My metering mode was set to highlight metering.

Of course I could come back on a day less bright, or find a spot at the park without shadows, but that isn't always possible. I'm going to take pictures of the cherry blossoms in NJ this weekend, and I know there's going to be unavoidable shadows.

I was hoping to be able to use flash to get rid of the harsh shadows, yet maintain the facial tone, obviously. What is the right way to do this?

Would bracketing have helped here? Is this what I should always be using in environments like this?

I've also provided a link to the original NEF.
Dropbox - _DSC3244.NEF

# JPG Image
Dropbox - DSC3244_Harrison.jpg

Thanks for any comments.

Nikon's FP Sync ( what Canon calls High-Speed Sync (HSS) would have allowed you to get the shutter speed much faster. Not sure if the SB 700 allows FP Sync.