Very difficult to admit but I am confused

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by JIP, Sep 3, 2007.

1. JIP

JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

O.k. I give up I am totally lost, well I guess not totally lost but a little confused. Here goes, I have been shooting weddings now for 6 years I shot with a Bronica Etrsi and a Metz 60CT-1 and 4. I was not the best but i think I was pretty damn good at it. When i would shoot outdoors with flash I would throw my subjects in the shade meter off of the background bright area and set the slider on my flash for the aperture I came up with on my meter reading. I know this is not the perfect method but it worked very well for me. So now comes to the difficult part for me I am now shooting with digital Nikon D70s and an SB800 and I am finding it very hard to figure out how to repeat this process the SB800 has a totally different setting on manual so I am not sure how to make this method work for me. Now before you say anything I do understand that film has alot more latitude than digital so some borderline shots were probably saved by the lab but i need help. I want to reproduce the quality shots I used to be able to shoot with my Bronica so can someone tell me how?????

2. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Can you possibly take advantage of CLS metreing with the SB-800? When set in iTTL mode fire the flash compensating any compensation your camera does. i.e. if you D70's exposure based on the metred setting from your hand held metre is -1EV based on the D70's own metre, set the flash to +1EV may do the trick.