Very new, C&C would be nice!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Yasa, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Yasa

Yasa TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello everyone,

I'm very new to photography, and while this is only a hobby, I do strive to get better. I have to say, this place can be a very daunting place to start; but that's what I came here for! I've looked at many photographs here and for the most part, they leave me speechless. There is so much to learn here and I can't wait to dive head first into the more detailed threads to improve myself! I bet I could save myself a fortune on classes by just reading the tips from here. Truly an excellent site overall, and seemingly excellent members.

So, like I said; I'm new. I use a Canon Rebel XSi with a 75-300 f/4-5.6 as well as a 50 mm f/1.8. I'm looking to be critiqued fairly hard, as I'm only looking to improve! Here we go;

1: This is a photo of my Grandfather, there has been post-photo contrast editing
    [​IMG]

2: This is of one of my grandfathers dog, Bear (again, contrast editing)
    [​IMG]

3: My flight to Vancouver
    [​IMG]

4: My cousin and his girlfriend shopping in Vancouver
    [​IMG]

5: My cousin and his girlfriend
    [​IMG]

6:My first and only HDR;
    [​IMG]

I was wondering how everyone felt about post-photo editing such as contrast, saturation, etc. Is this considered bad form, or is it generally accepted as being part of the photography process?

Thanks everyone!

2. fokker

fokker No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    #1 you should be able to see his eyes

#4 is pretty cool

#5 is a snapshot

#6 is very good IMO, could have been improved with a bit better focus in the foreground possibly, but I still like the shot.

3. ocular

ocular TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit