view finder went out on my Canon Rebel T3

ctopanga14

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was just out shooting with my Canon Rebel T3, and the viewfinder suddenly went out. I was shooting with a 55-250 mm lens, and it was like something was blocking the viewfinder. However, when I took off the lens and inspected it, everything looked fine. My friend who is a semi-professional photographer looked at the camera herself and couldn't find anything obviously wrong or any reason for this to happen! The camera will still take pics, but I have to use the screen to see the photo. It also is affecting the auto focus - I can only take photos when it's in manual focus mode.

I'm still learning my way around photography (aka I'm very new at all this), so any advice or expertise would be very appreciated!

Is the viewfinder completely black or is it just really dark? Does it auto focus at all or just going slowly? When you say you have to use the screen. Do you mean live view?

Yes, I have to use live view (sorry for being such an amateur!). The screen is almost completely black, but it looks like there are tiny pin pricks in the viewfinder that I can see through - but it will not take a photo if I am not in live view.

My viewfinder is really dark when the battery is removed. Obviously you can't use live view with no battery. It just stopped working? While you were shooting? Didn't drop it or anything did ya?

No, we were literally in the middle of taking a picture when it just went black. My friend did say her hand accidentally hit a button (she was using it at the time) so perhaps it is on mirror lock. If anyone could explain this, I'll take a look.

Check your camera manual for mirror lockup.