vintage camera user from Seattle

dbailey56

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
dbaileyseattle.smugmug.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Was looking for someplace to talk about vintage cameras and found you folks. After reading several posts I knew there were some SMART people around here! I look forward to the exchange.

I'm an architect, living in Seattle WA. My main passion is street photography, although I have the good fortune to be "in" with a film company here in town and get paid to do their Behind The Scenes stills each time they film a new movie. Got to love getting paid for your hobby!

I'm totally infatuated with shooting with vintage cameras, but I'm not a collector. I buy them, clean them up, often doing some semi-serious repairs to get them working again, shoot with them for a while then sell them back so I have money to buy another. So far in the past few years of doing this I've owned right at 300 different cameras, the oldest being from 1902. But my collection of keepers is now at 8 (so that isn't so bad is it?).

If you're interested in seeing my cameras I keep a log of them here:

https://dbaileyseattle.smugmug.com/Lo-Fi
...nothing fancy, just a few thoughts about the camera, a photo of the camera, then some shots taken with it.

Anyway, thanks for being here. I look forward to getting to know you better.

--Douglas

Great!! now I'm not going to get anything done (because I started looking at your cameras...).

Was looking for someplace to talk about vintage cameras and found you folks. After reading several posts I knew there were some SMART people around here! I look forward to the exchange.

I'm an architect, living in Seattle WA. My main passion is street photography, although I have the good fortune to be "in" with a film company here in town and get paid to do their Behind The Scenes stills each time they film a new movie. Got to love getting paid for your hobby!