Vivatar 285

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by dveenhuis, Jul 28, 2008.

  1. dveenhuis

    dveenhuis TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Blanc, MI, Secord Lake on Weekends
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have an old Vivatar 285 flash unit that I used on my Minolta XD11. Will this flash work on a Sony A300?
     
  2. Deadeye008

    Deadeye008 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It should fire on your camera but will not communicate with it I believe. FYI: I know that some of the old Vivitar 285's put out a lot of volts, enough to fry a camera sometimes. Vivitar made some hi and low voltage 285's. I would check and make sure it's a low voltage one before I stuck it on a camera.
     
  3. Village Idiot

    Village Idiot No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,274
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV / Almost, MD
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Read your manual. Your camera is probably rated for 250v as that's pretty much standard now. Double check though and don't trust me. Also, you can use a voltmeter to find out.
     
  4. solrac8126

    solrac8126 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Panama
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    i have one of those they are great...!

    i've seen it used on a 5d , and i use it all the time with my remotes
     
  5. icassell

    icassell TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,893
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit

Share This Page