vivitar lens diaphragm

easilyamused

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I'm brand new to the Photo Forum and almost as new to photography besides point-and-shoot! As I've been getting into taking pictures, I've dusted off an old Konica Autoreflex TC that once belonged to my great uncle. Among the lenses that dear Uncle Hymie had for the camera is a Vivitar 70-150mm f/3.8. When I use the lens on the Autoreflex in autoexposure mode, the diaphragm will stop down as the exposure is made but then refuses to open back up afterwards, so my viewfinder stays dim. The only way to get it back open is to take the lens off the camera! Everything works properly in manual mode, and the other (Konica Hexanon) lenses I have work fine too.

Is something wrong with the Vivitar? Or is it maybe just incompletely compatible with the Konica?

You probably have lubricant leakage on the diaphragm blades. If you can't take the lens apart and clean them yourself, either use the lens wide open or throw it away. It's not worth the cost to have it professionally cleaned.

You can examine the blades for oil residue by moving the lens stop down lever at the back of the lens. Set it to f/16 or so, flip the lever, and take a look.

Also, if this is your problem, you should expect to see the diaphragm stick closed when you actuate it. If the diaphragm operates as it should, and there is no sign of oil on the blades, then the problem may lie with the camera.

I am not familiar at all with Konica, but there should be some sort of lever or arm inside the lens mount that actuates the lens diaphragm. When you trip the shutter with the lens off the camera, this arm =probably= should move quickly back and forth (I say probably because, with no lens on the camera, it may behave differently, I just don't know). If it moves in one direction and stays there, this might just be your culprit.