wannabe amateur photographer--need help choosing camera, online stores

oceaneyes

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, everyone. I'm new here. I'm also pretty new to photography--that is to say, photography that goes beyond point-and-click snapshots using whatever camera happens to be at hand. I became interested in going beyond this simple interface with cameras when I stumbled upon the shutter speed and aperture settings on my mom's digital camera--I'd read about the basics of these features on the internet a couple months ago and decided to give the settings a try. The result, on my first shot, impressed me--though it may be below typical quality compared to stuff everyone here is used to. Here it is:

026.jpg

Like I said, it's probably below standard but I've never been able to take a picture and get exactly what I wanted from it, with a foreground in focus and the background kinda blurred. I know it's a little dark, but I'm sort of a dark person and all that dark green with the red/pink/purple/whatevercoloritis in middle just pleases me...in short, the picture captured exactly what drew me to the flower in the first place. Had I the presence of mind or the skill, I might have taken two more photos...one with the background in focus with the foreground out of focus and one with both in focus. But hey--I remember where that flower is and what time of day it caught my eye, so if I get a DSLR...who knows? Plus, there are billions of other flowers in the world. Heh, what an exciting prospect.

But I digress...What I'm here to ask about is digital SLR's...they seem neat. They look like they can do more than the camera above. But, there are so many! Luckily, most of them are out of my price range...so that narrows it down. What I've been looking at are the Olympus EVOLT E-410, the Nikon