Wanting to break out....

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by jleon, Oct 27, 2008.

1. jleon

jleon TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am a complete newbie to photography but find myself always wanting more - i think this is my sign to pursue it further. So, my question is - what is the best way to do this? I have had NO official training or classes - should i start there? Should i take an online course or an in person course? I only have a point and shoot, should i buy a used DSLR to get started or work with what i've got? Help!! I really want to learn more but am not sure where to start!! I am still trying to learn (just by reading) what the terms (fstop, ISO, etc.) mean!!

2. tsaraleksi

tsaraleksi TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Taking a class at a community college or community center could be a great way to kick start yourself into photography.

3. Village Idiot

Village Idiot No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you're serious about photography a P&S will only get you so far.

Clasess, seminars, etc...

If you take classes at some place like a community college, they'll probably have you working with a film SLR to start off with.

And read. Read about the basics, read about the advanced stuff, read about lighting, read about lenses, read about bodies, read about the legal side (knowing your rights as a photographer), read about models, read about still life, read about professionals, read blogs, read comics, read magazines, read anything and everything that has something to do with photography. Chances are that even if it's a subject you don't like, you'll learn something interesting that can be applied to some part or another of what you do like and what you want to accomplish.