Warehousing & Logistics

BananaRepublic

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

I would like to get some advice on storage systems and what may best suite me. If this is the wrong forum, either this or Digital I didn't know, then advise.

What I have now is a Macbook pro 8gb, I have just got LR & PS on CC and I don't want to get things in a jumble on the laptop , virtual copies and everything, so I was looking at get some storage. My brother has a 3TB LaCie, but he runs an iMac. I'm not a pro photographer so Im not sure if I would need similar, I know you can store anything on there besides photos but is it worth it. Perhaps you guys could suggest something more suitable. I would like to aim for SSD over Mechanical.

Thanks BR,

LaCie 3TB d2 Thunderbolt 2 USB 3.0 Hard Drive - Apple Store U.S.

umm. if this was actually about warehousing and logistics i could maybe help you...

Everyone has their favorite data storage methodology. Some like cloud storage, but that's the pay-forever plan in my opinion. I currently have all my long-term storage on a 1TB internal HD, with the operating system and currently-in-process photos on an SSD drive. I clone each of them at irregular intervals, and back that all up to an external HD that I store offsite.

Since I am not a professional, I have found there is very little need in retaining 'everything' from a shoot, or a series of shots, or a category, like 'family shots 2014' (which might contain 'vacation', Timmy's birthday, Christmas, etc folders). I started saving just the RAW shots I chose to keep(process) and the finished, post-processed results about 3 years ago. But the more I think about it, I find no need to save the RAW files, as I'll never go back and re-edit the photographs. So I recently deleted all the RAW images to make space. I can always go back and re-crop the JPGs for printing any time I want.