Watch_Product Photo

Discussion in 'Commercial/Product photography' started by Sarah_Klachak, Jul 15, 2017.

1. Sarah_Klachak

Sarah_Klachak TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi Guys, i am new to this product photography.
    This is my first photo, kindly share your valuable comments

Attached Files:

2. zombiesniper

zombiesniper The camera takes the Pic. I just point the way. Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Take everything below with a grain of salt since I shoot mostly wildlife.

Overall I would have to give this a rating of good experience, now take what you've learned and have another go at it.

The best product photo's for the most part make the product look good.
    Interesting lighting, cool techniques are completely irrelevant if the product doesn't look good and grab your attention. Now some well known high end brands do use very dramatic lighting but most products do not.

The photo above has dramatic lighting that may look cool and could be a good exercise in lighting but it does nothing for showing what the watch looks like.
    If you want to know how to shoot products. Look at the lighting in the types of products that you could be realistically be shooting. Yes Gucci (slap your favourite overpriced crap brand here) may use dramatic lighting but my money is on the fact that you're not going to be shooting for Gucci anytime soon.

Using a black base for a black product does make your job of showing the product harder since the lower half of the watch virtually disappears. Having the blue burst effect with the point light source in the background could work if you suspend the watch and have the effect cover the whole frame.
    Most products are shown in one of two ways. In use i.e. on someone or in a controlled studio environment. More often than not a white surrounding is used but is not always the case.

Where to go from here?