Waterfall pics C&C please!

sweetreddancer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So a month or so ago I jobshadowed the photographer for the local newspaper. We went out to a state park and I was able to take some of my first waterfall pictures (let me tell you now, I'm pretty new to this so I still need to work on this a bit :D)

am1.jpg

am3.jpg

am2.jpg

This is just part of a branch covered in moss

am5.jpg

and a picture of part of the landscape

am6.jpg

Can I get some feedback and tips please? Thanks!

I really like 1 & 3.
2. looks like there is a little to much going on around the image drawing eyes away from the waterfalls
4. & 5. just don't do anything for me.

It would be nicer to have them a little bigger to get a better look at.

I think 1, 2 and 3 are well done. :) IMO 3 may need a bit more contrast...

4 Doesn't do anything for me...

5... Well I don't know what I'm supposed to look at...

I am a fan of black and white... so I converted one of your images to see what it would look like.

am1BW.jpg

I'm loving number 2. I find that when you see too much water falling at such a steepness, the motion blur looks a little weird.

Actually I think that #1 is very nice but that the colors, particularly the rusty red's a bit distracting. It looks almost like noise instead of foliage. Going to black and white was a lovely idea in this case. It really popped the waterfall and took away all that distracted. If you are going to leave them in color I'd tone down the saturation on the reds a bit. Normally I'm just the opposite. I like the reds in most color pics up a bit, but in this case it's actually working against the coolness of the water. A cooling filter would be very nice here.

are these 'micro' water falls? I just cant get my head around what im looking at... looks like it rained heavily and these are 2 ft high ledges with water coming off them?

nice capture of the water flow in number 1 though.

Thanks everyone!