watts feet and fans?

eyeman85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Im looking to get strobe lighting, and just double checking a few things. I am an action sports photographer/ studio photographer. Basically I need lights that are good for studio work of portraits, and outdoors where my subjects can be anywhere from 0-50 feet from the light source? Also, I probably not buy lights that don't have fans built in?

SO, when reading a description about a light how do I determine all of this fancy ****? Thanks

Yeah, lights with built-in fans are not really all that great for use with pure sine wave inverters. Lights are typically specified by watt-seconds and Guide Number. Guide Number is usually specified in Feet, at ISO 100--in the USA, and is abbreviated GN. On speedlights, GN goes up rapidly as the head is zoomed to telephoto position, and drops as the beam spread angle is widened. Same thing with studio lights; a narrow-angle reflector will deliver a much higher GN than a wider-beam one like a 65 degree reflector.

You MUST understand that many monolights have artificially-inflated names, that try to make the customer think he/she is getting a much higher-powered light than the true watt-seconds. If the manufacturer you are considering tries to talk about "effective watt-seconds", realize that you are getting a snow job, based on a 25-year old canard of dubious existence--in other words, a LOT of marketing-speak and FUD. The only real things you can consider are actual Guide Numbers, with specific reflectors. Most of the pack-and-head manufacturers deal in REAL watt-second ratings, while one common monolight seller talks excessively about "effective" watt-seconds, and acts as if the competition is from one manufacturer from back in the 1980's; this current flash re-seller's lights have patently deceptive names like "400" and "800" on units that are in no way comparable to the output of older-line brands 400 or 800 watt-second units.