I am Big, I am Mike
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.mikehodson.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm trying to write my 'About Me' bio for my web site...and I'm not sure about which direction to take.

My first draft is a friendly, in person type of thing...."Hi, my name is Mike...thank you for visiting my web site" and so on.

I have seen many that are in the 3rd person..."Mike is a big photographer" bla bla bla.

Does anyone have any preferences that they like to see, or don't like to see? Any tips?

I sort of want to be more friendly than professional but I'm not sure if that's a good idea or not. Any insight would be appreciated.

The third person approach allows you to put in more of your achievements without sounding like you're the one doing the bragging. ;)

That's certainly part of it...but I don't necessarily have a lot of achievements in this field, I'm basically self taught...and I don't think a reader wants to hear that I have 10,000 posts on TFP ;)

I would prefer to see the friendly version. It makes the site more inviting.
That is how I like to set up my sites.

I ask every artist for our art gallery to provide a bio for the artist page. Some of them write it in the first person, some in the third person (what is second person anyway???). You can see the different styles at
http://webgallery.wildmaven.org/artists/ to get some ideas. Or, you could do it in the third person, but then have an "Artist Statement" where you can provide your first person comments. :)

Definately fun and personal. Let's your personality come out.

Whenever I need to write a bio I always do the same thing. "Matthew is a _______ currently working in Anytown Ontario. He enjoys (activity), (another activity), and writing in third person."

I then begin writing in first person. Kind of a nice little joke to keep it light hearted.