Wedding Help

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by kimberlina, Jul 18, 2007.

1. kimberlina

kimberlina TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm a hobby photographer and my friend has asked me to do her wedding in October. I'm desperately afraid that I will ruin her pictures because there is so much I don't know. Is there any technical advice you guys can give me?

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

The standard advice to someone in your position is to politely decline. A wedding is supposed to be a once in a lifetime event and recording those memories should be a high priority. It wouldn't be wise to ask a hobby pilot to fly a 747...and the same could be said for wedding photography.

You might offer to shoot a lot of stuff at her wedding, but suggest she hire a professional for the most important parts (usually the ceremony and formals).

That being said, a lot of people don't want to spend money for a professional photographer and would otherwise go without. If your friend truly understands your skill level and has reasonable expectations, the this might be a great opportunity for you to try your hand at wedding photography.

It should be said that the photographer is much more important than the gear they use...but having good equipment is certainly a good start. What do you shoot with?

As this is an event, you would need to be prepared for Murphy's Law and be able to get the job done. This means having backup equipment with you. At least two cameras, two flash units, lenses etc. Plenty of batteries and [film or memory cards] would be a good idea as well.

3. hudsonp

hudsonp TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit