Wedding: JPEG vs. RAW

biostockman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi All! This is my first post of many more to come, hopefully... I'm an amateur DSLR photographer but this question is actually about my wedding photographer. He shoots with a Canon 5D Mark II, but he only shoots in JPEG format and not RAW... This is seems odd to me but perhaps its because I only have a lowly 450D and his resolution is almost twice that of mine. However, I'm a bit concerned. I had planned on editing the photos myself but don't know how much I can edit JPEG images from this camera... Any thoughts? Would JPEG images be sufficient or should we insist on RAW?

Thanks in advance for any and all replies!! :)

WTH? You should fire that photographer right now! Seriously!

Even if he agrees that he will shoot with RAW, I would still look for another photographer. He probably does not know how to do post processing. Kinda hard to adjust your WB all the time at weddings so more than likely the WB will be off. KInda hard to fix the WB with only JPEG!

Have you seen his work?
He may actually be good enough to not need to shoot RAW. Not everyone does you know.

P.S. It's easy to correct WB in .jpeg. Look around, the info is out there.

It's even been described on this site if you want to use the search function.

If you think changing color sliders left and right is easy.. i guess. I rather user 1 slider (temperature).

A couple possibilities pop into my head:

1. He's so good, he only needs JPEG. Definitely not unheard of. Getting it right in camera would speed up his workflow.

2. You misunderstood him. Perhaps he meant that he would give you the photos in JPEG, but not RAW. Especially if he knows you have the intent on editing them yourself (which I find fairly odd).