Wedding Pricing?

FreestyleOutdoors

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I'm wanting to get started into wedding photography and had a couple questions.

I am an amateur photographer/videographer, but I feel like my work is fairly good. I don't however want to step on the toes of the professionals or mislead clients. I want to start out by catering to couples who may not have the money to hire a PRO, but still want quality pictures.

My questions are:
1. What do you guys think would be a good way to advertise to my intended clientele without having somebody hire me thinking they are getting a PRO for cheap?

2. Am I wrong in assuming I will probably have 30-40 hours of work with shooting and post? If its in that area do you think a range of $400-500 would be acceptable? Too high? Too low?

3. I'm shooting on crop sensors, so would you guys suggest the 24-105 f/4L, 24-70 f/4L, or 17-40 f/4L be my next lens purchase?

Thanks in advance

DSLR video? How many camera shots? Solo?

Video shoots are orders of magnitude more expensive than photo shoots. I normally charge $125 per hour for editing and about $2,000 a day plus travel expenses for video. I have at least 2-3 people at these shoots and 3 cameras along with 4-5 gopros. Plus mics and sound gear.

Granted this may be overkill for your but it's a good guide point as to what other people are doing and what is expected.

No I'm sorry, I meant photography.

Video in the future, but not until I work on my editing skills more. I have all the equipment, although I would like another external audio recorder or two, but I just want my skills to match my equipment before I start doing video. I don't like half-assing anything

Welcome to the forum.