Wedding Questions

bbaker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone! Although I am not new to photography, I am new to wedding photography. I've had my share of senior portrait photography and was recently asked to shoot a wedding. This will be my first wedding. Now, I know there is a lot of pressure about getting all of the right shots at the right time. I have a few questions that would make me feel a little more sure of myself if I had some input from you guys!

When do you take the major group photos? (Bridemaids, Groomsmen,etc.)
Any shots that are standard/I should be ready for when the point comes?
**Any other general wedding advice would be awesome!

Im also looking at lenses. I have a Nikon 18-105mm lens and a telephoto Nikon 70-300mm lens. The 18-105mm comes with a lot of distortion and the 70-300mm is a lens I would have to take shots with from a ways away. If I were to buy a new lens, what would you recommend?

Thanks for any input you may provide! I greatly appreciate it!
Brandon

When do you take the major group photos? (Bridemaids, Groomsmen,etc.)
Usually, it is after the ceremony, before the reception. I make sure that I have some input on the schedule of the day's events, and make them plan for plenty of time in there. Most times, you end up with less time than you planned for, so ask for more time that you will actually need.

If the B&G are OK with seeing each other before the wedding, you can do them before...which can be less rushed, or at least have less family & friends hanging around.

Any shots that are standard/I should be ready for when the point comes?
There are plenty...you should be ready for anything at all times. ;)

**Any other general wedding advice would be awesome!
Backup equipment is very, very important.