Wedding Reception & first time shooting with flash.

-B-

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
bryantpanyarachun.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I went to a wedding reception this past Saturday as a guest and decided to bring the camera along. This was my first time shooting in fairly low light and the first time using a hot shoe flash. I've had my D90 for less than a month now (first DSLR) so I'm fairly new to photography. C&C please.

D90 with kit lens and SB-24 on manual.
All photos are unedited.

4087724909_d979b9d834_b.jpg

4088519486_ba961ffc7c_b.jpg

4087774389_96a643a8ee_b.jpg

4087778329_e58ff4c633_b.jpg

4087792021_f61c3db716_b.jpg

4087793259_5342b9121c_b.jpg

4087839345_1f4b499ede_b.jpg

4087887227_1a75a5d3cd_b.jpg

4088673748_976d8ba4fa_b.jpg

4088679392_cf113574bd_b.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

It looks like you were bouncing the flash off of the ceiling, that's good. It gives you a nice soft overhead light....which is much better than direct flash. The only problem with that, is that you don't get much (or any) light into people eyes because the light is hitting them from above.
This is where flash accessories come in. Most flash accessories are made to be used while bouncing...they throw some of the light forward to fill in the shadows caused by the bounced light.
The most basic thing you could use, would be a bounce card. Just a reflective (white) card attached to the back of the flash so that when it's pointed up, some light is reflected forward.

Also, I will assume you had the flash set to i-TTL (auto). That's OK, but when using it, you may need to adjust the FEC (flash exposure compensation). The more reflective (white) the scene, the more you will need to increase the FEC. For example, the shots with the cake & white table cloth...they are underexposed. Turning up the FEC could have fixed that.

Thanks for the recommendations. I will definitely look into bounce cards.

Keep on shooting, you are on the right path.