Weddings - Set or Unlimited Hours

Lyncca

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.lynccaharveyphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
When you shoot a wedding, do you offer "unlimited" hours or do you set a range and then charge for over and beyond? Such as 10 hours and anything over is X an hour.

The reason I am asking is that as second shooter, I have been going to weddings and they are lasting 14+ hours, starting early in the morning with the bride getting ready. I can barely stand by the end of the night, and that isn't counting the typical hour+ drive on each end either. I'm completely greatful for the experience, and I have a blast and all, but $150 for that length of time is starting to not be as worth it as I get better and better myself and want to start doing lead shooting. Also, to be away from my family for a day+ (if I must stay over night) needs to be worth it financially.

I'm just curious how everyone else charges. Maybe if I was a 5K photographer I would feel more greatful, but a 16 hour day for $1500 and all the processing time? I'm thinking of adding $150 each additional hour or so, but I don't want to lose clients because of it either.

The extra time always ends up being from following the bride around all morning, so they don't seem to count that in when they are thinking of how many hours they need to hire a photographer for and by then the contract is signed and you can't just walk out in the middle of the reception.

I think the typical idea is that folks will have a set number of hours they'll work that go with any wedding package. Additional time is at an hourly rate. I think this is a good idea, personally, since it forces the couple to figure out what they really want you for rather than saying, "be there all day and shoot everything!"