Weighing Options

Discussion in 'Canon Cameras' started by Rye, Oct 14, 2017.

1. Rye

Rye TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm in the market for some new gear. I've been using a 6D for a few years now. The image quality is fantastic but the focusing system is potato and I find myself needing better. I do have a 7D which I bought as a backup to my 6D. The 7D was great and I ended up favoring it over the 6D much of the time but unfortunately something went wrong in the electronics and the camera is dead.

I photograph people, portraits, events, and sports for work. Nature, wildlife and astrophotography as a hobby. There are definitely times one camera would work better than the other or times when it would just come in handy to have two cameras at hand.

My options are:

1. Sell my 6D and get a 5D Mark III. I really like the idea of a 5D Mark III. It would do everything I need and I would have a camera that focuses. The downside is I wouldn't have a backup or a second body.

2. Keep the 6D and get a 7D Mark II. I would still use the 6D in 6D situations and I'd have the 7D Mark II for backup and 7D Mark II situations. I also like the video capabilities of the 7D Mark II.

3. Get another old 7D and maybe some new glass.

What would you folks do?

2. weepete

weepete TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    I'd actually hold off till the 7Dmkiii is released. I'm hoping it will be a major upgrade to the old 7D I'm currently shooting with.

3. TCampbell

TCampbell Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    It could be a bit of a wait for a 7D III. Although Canon Rumors (and others) have posted "rumors" on the 7D III, Canon Rumors gives their posts a credibility rating (CR) and both of the rumors have a CR0 score (worst credibility).

They explain their rating system here: The Canon Rumors Rating System Explained

Basically:

CR3 - take it as fact
    CR2 - rumor came from a reliable source