What accessories for the Canon EOS Digital Rebel 300D?

htkchen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.cityofsolitude.com
Hey everyone,

I'm very new to this form, and a beginner in amateur photography. I made a few bucks this summer and thought I just start off on a big foot by purchasing a DSLR. Since I'm most familiar with Canon and the Rebel 300D was less than 1000, I decided to get that one.

I'm wondering if you have any suggestions for lens, filters, and other accesories that I should get. I currently have a very nice tripod, extra batteries, and a 512 MB CF card. I'll most likely be shooting things at the macro level as well as a few landscapes, skyscrapers, and scenaries. Probably several portrait shots as well. I also got the 18-55 mm lens with the 300D. Do you any suggestions on other lens (within a reasonable price like below 500 dollars ish) that I should get? I looked for UV and Polarizer filters since those seem to be the most popular and useful, but found several different brands. Suggestions on which ones are better to use is definitely appcreciated.

Kind regards,

Henry

get more memory, especially if you're going
to shoot in RAW mode (a 512 MB card is good
for about 80 RAW images).

The Canon 50mm 1.8 is a great lens for about $70,
it makes a great portrait lens on a DSLR due to the
magnification factor (so it's a 80mm)

The 18-55 is ok for the wide end. Look for a longer
zoom. The Canon USM lenses are great, I also had
very good experience with Sigma zooms. You'll be able
to find a nice lens within your budget.

You can't go wrong with filters from any manufacturer,
I usually buy generic brand.

Hi doxx, thank you for your help. Is there a big difference between the 50 mm 1.8 lens and the 18-55 mm lens that the kit comes with? I'll look into the Canon USM lenses as well as get some generic filters. Much appreciation for your time.

Henry