What am i doing wrong please help

JayClark79

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok this shot was takin in the studio in my basement.. I had a flash in front left, and another flash behind right.... The camera settings are ISO 400, f/4.5, and 1/125.. Im using a 50mm 1.8

I can not seem to get the exposure down.. they always come out way under exposed... and the pics to me are also very noisy..

Please help.

Pic below.. I know the blacks are blown.. i only adjusted the lighter side of the exposure.. im also having a problem keeping the background completely black :(

719963610_34AYd-L.jpg

Why ISO 400, this is common for portraits but since you control the lighting I don't understand?

I think the black is killing your light.

I'm no pro but try this..

Use the same lights but try popping up your onboard and bring the exposure down. This could help with fill light. Maybe slow down shutter speed and bring ISO down to 100 to get grain out of there.

Or add a reflector to front right. It seems like your back light might be aimed too shallow. Unless the lit up ground is what you are going for. Also, with your light set up, it seems like you would want the kid facing the other way...

Are you using soft boxes or umbrellas?

Last edited:
The exposure looks pretty good to me. I adjusted the blacks to be lighter in Photoshop using the Highlight/Shadows tool,and lifting the shadow values just showed me the wrinkles in the backdrop, especially near the front of the frame--the background stayed darker than the foreground, which is expected.

This is a small photo, so it's hard to see much noise. If you think the exposure needs to be brighter, and less underexposed, my first suggestion would be to up the ISO,since I am assuming you are using the flashes at full-power manual. If you are "not" using the flashes at full power manual, you might be able to move the flashes a bit closer to the subject,so the flashes are just out of camera range.