What am I doing wrong?

apple429

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I am new to film photography and developing, so I have just been shooting a roll of 35mm every other week and developing it until I can get good at developing. I keep on getting this "fog" on the bottom of my negatives, I have two different film cameras (Nikon FM, and Pentax Spotmatic SP II) and with both cameras I get the same results, so that makes me think thats it's something I am doing in the developing process. Here are the chemicals I use:
Kodak D-76 Developer (I have tried both stock and 1:1)
Eco-Pro Stop Bath
Kodak Fixer
Kodak Hypo-Clearing Agent

My theory is that I have a light leak in my developing tank (Paterson)...

Here are some pictures of both the negatives and the colors inverted... I wasn't sure what you would need, please let me know if you need anything else.
Thanks for your help in advance!
~Taylor~
$_DSC2454.jpg$_DSC2456.jpg$_DSC2462.jpg$_DSC2463.jpg$_DSC2472.jpg$_DSC2473.jpg$_DSC2477.jpg

Is it always at the top near the seal of the tank?
The defects look like swirl marks near the sprocket holes.

Is it always at the top near the seal of the tank?
The defects look like swirl marks near the sprocket holes.

Yes, I believe it is always at the top, how do I prevent this from happening?

are you filling to the top and agitating as directed?
it's hard to commit that this is a light leak because of the 'swirl' look but try loading in the dark and then covering the top seal with duct tape and put the tank in a black plastic bag or a film changing bag if you have one.
do the rest of the developing process in very low or, preferably, no light until you've fixed it.