What bridge should I choose?

Zaner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,
I am interested in purchasing a new bridge camera for an all-around camera. I want to buy a new DSLR, or maybe a film SLR, but for now I want a good all-purpose camera to take with me.
I have narrowed my choices down to 3 cameras (unless someone else has other recommendations). The 3 choices are as follows: (they are in order of how well I like them) Canon PowerShot SX50 HS, Fujifilm FinePix HS50 EXR, and the Fujifilm FinePix SL1000. I know that the Fuji cameras are both newer than the Canon, but I have had a lot of very good firsthand experiences with the canon PowerShot Bridge cameras, and I have read and seen a lot too. There are a ton of very nice reviews about it, though, there are many regarding the other cameras too. I would very much like to hear the opinions of the other members here.
Currently, my biggest concern is finding a wireless remote switch for the cameras, and I am not even sure if the SL1000 has one available for it. I don’t think that Fuji makes one, but does anyone know of a 3[SUP]rd[/SUP] party remote for the Fuji FinePix SL1000? Also, I am looking for a wireless remote for the Canon SX50 HS. Any good advice there?
The reason why I made these cameras my choices because I want a bridge camera that can do Long exposures, bulb photography (which I don’t think any of these do), and I particularly like high speed videos,time lapse and cool light effects. I know that my results will be much better with a DSLR/SLR, but remember, please, that I am looking for an all-around bridge camera (unless anyone has any better ideas, keeping in mind what I am looking for).
Thank you all,
Zane. ;)

Last edited:
I use the Panasonic FZ200, an excellent allround bridge with a bright (F2.8 all the way), 25-600mm Leica zoom.