What camera for sports??(action shots)

balfarider

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys. I am a complete noob when it comes to photography. Thing is, I into a sport called downhill biking and I need a camera that is responsive. I want an SLR. The camera I currently have is an inexpensive pentax that takes forever to take a picture. By the time I take the picture my friend(doing a jump) has already landed.

Now I dont want to be told to purchase a 1000$ camera. Remember I'm new to photography and I am only looking to get a few cool shots of me and my friends bikiing. A camera that I have considered is the fuji funpix s700 because it only costs around 240$. I guess you can say that my budget is 500 and below.

Thanks guys

Eric,

If you are going for anything instant, I'd go for an SLR. I had good luck with a Rebel XT. You can get one with the kit lens for $450. That would work for your needs, and would have more options later on to upgrade to new lenses with larger apertures, farther zooms, etc.

So, I'd recommend starting with a Canon Digital Rebel XT.

I have an canon 20d I use it for paintball photography umm you can get it on ebay for 400$ lens you get them for cheap to.

Welcome to the forum.

I want a car that will go from 0 to 100 in 3.4 seconds...but I don't want to spend more than $500. :er:

I agree with Keith, an SLR camera will probably be much more responsive than a non-slr digi-cam. Most of the digi-cams I've tried are dreadfully slow compared to any SLR camera I've used.

Still, you need good technique to shoot sports...especially when your gear is limited. A DSLR like the one mentioned would be a good start, but the lens might be a bit limiting, especially if the light isn't great. A better lens would probably blow your budget...so you have to work with what you can afford.