what camera to buy (beginner)

CalebGGodwin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I bought a decent digital camera a few months ago, nothing special, just a very compact camera. Anyway, I've been wanting for a long time to buy a 35mm (I assume) camera. Once that can take quick snapshots with great quality and good zoom. But, I don't want to spend a few grand on it. I'm not sure how much these things cost, but I'd like to learn about them before looking too much into it. So, what kind of specs should I be looking at? SLR vs. DLR, different types of mm film, lenses... etc. If anyone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it, because I would like to purchase one within the next few months. Thanks.

Well I am no expert but here are my thoughts:
1) Both DSLR and SLR are able to get similar results with the same lens on a decent body - the big difference is that with SLR you really have to make every shot count before you press the shutter butten - every shot costs you in development. With DSLR (Digital) its much like your compact camera - you can shoot 1000 shots and only keep 10 - and it won't cost you anything to dump the others

2) SLR and DSLR cameras need more practice with to get good shots than a compact camera to start with - especially if you start playing around with the manual settings. This means that at first you might be slower and worse than your compact - but give it time and practice and you can get far better results - and far more control over how you shoot.

3) can you get to a local photography club? I ask this especially if you go down the SLR route as things such as developing the shots (I take it you are intending to have them developed at a store) need to be ironed out (ie which stores are the best and where are they) It would also give you a chance to have a try with some of the SLR kit.