What camera to buy? Pls help!

brogansmommy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and I am looking to purchase a camera. I would like to spend somewhere between 500 and 1000. I can go higher if it's worth it. My goal with this is to start doing newborn photography. My niece was born today and I got inspired looking at all of the newborn photos. Does anyone have any recommendations that would fit what I'm looking for? Although I'm just starting out, I am hoping to turn this into a future career. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Also if anyone can point me to some place that is a good online beginners course, That would be great too. I have lots to learn before I am ready for a career!!

Good video courses you find at Lynda.com:
Photography Courses Online Classes from lynda.com
And here you have a free online e-book on Photography, wich explain the basics:
Creative Photography A Complete Online Book - Book Contents
Good DSLRs to start with are the Nikon D5300 or D5500.
Or a system camera, smaller and lighter than a DSLR, but as good. f.i. the Sony A6000.
But if you just starting, it will take some time before you really
know how to use a camera in all kinds of conditions;
Take as much pictures you can, with all kind of settings, so you learn much by trial and error.
Rudi

Last edited:
I would start out with a used Nikon D7000 or D7100.
Get that and a used 35mm 1.8G prime lens. This set up will be under $1000.

You would be able to take some really cute photos of your niece. Start off with shooting them under diffused natural window light.

Play with your camera, day and night. Keep learning....

When you are ready, that same set up should be able to earn you some money one day, and when you find limitations or want to achieve higher, you will naturally find new gear to overcome those obstacles. Such as studio lights, off camera flash, soft boxes, full frame camera, etc.etc. :D