What camera to upgrade to?

jonsalty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all.

I'm a bit of an amateur photographer/videographer but am looking to make an upgrade.

My Camera; Pentax k500
My lens 18-280 and 18-55

My line of work: I'm a creative director of an Experiential Entertainment Agency. I produce live events with dancers singers presenters etc etc to increase a brands awareness.
I then film the behind the scenes stuff and put it together into a case study.

What I want:
My current camera doesn't have a mic input which means I rely on the built in mic. Not ideal when I am at a busy/loud event and am trying to interview my team about how the day is going.

I would also probably want to buy a 50 mm 1.8f lens too which would benefit the interview style videography. I would also buy a rode/sennenheiser directional mic to sit on top.

I've been looking at upgrading to the Pentax K5 II because it has the mic input and is a whole lot better camera and it also means that I can keep my 18-280 lens.

I'd love to get some feedback whether to stick with what I know with Pentax or move to Nikon/Canon.

Thanks in advance

Jon

Not really into video but from what I heard in its price range the Panasonic GH4 is the best video/stills camera you can get.
If you dont want a mirrorless camera then the Canon 70D has a very good AF system on it that suits well video shooters.
Also I can tell you my camera the Nikon D750 is very good with its FF sensor, tilty screen and special menu just for video.
The Camera Store review said they think the D750 is best DSLR for video.