What camera will help me get a vintage/retro type look for video and picture?

DesertFilth

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello I'm new to this all and what not,getting into photography has been something I've always had in mind but no time I will use that as an excuse.I'm a newbie when it comes to cameras(.) I've always had an interest but no time like I said BUT now I have the time to ask a couple of questions.I've used Photoshop for years,I'm not hear asking for certain effects but how too get a older look for images and video.You're probably familiar with famous album artworks from the 1970s.That's what I'd like to achieve,particular album artwork from Pink Floyd would be a good reference.I know that the photographer for the album artwork photographer "hipgnosis" used a hasselblad.I guess it's a no-brainer to say just use filters and add some noise nowadays and change the settings on the camera but what really trying to say what type of camera should I be looking into.Can it be possible to use an older camera model?Wouldn't it be hard to format the picture/video it to a computer to use it and so on?I'm sorry if I was vague or unclear seriously.:confused-55:

Last edited:
Older film gear is cheap these days- even the older medium format cameras are rather affordable today (not dirt cheap but cheap enough compared to what they were). If you like the look of film you can certainly still work with it - many still do.

When it comes to the computer side you can buy scanners which will simply scan a film negative into the computer which you can then edit with photoshop just like a regular photo. High end scanners can be quite expensive; but there are many companies which will develop your film and scan it for you.