What can be done with this photo?

RockDawg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to photgraphy and completely clueless when it comes to Photoshop or post processing. I'm trying to get an idea of the practical uses and what can be achieved with some of the tools available.

This photo is obviously over-exposed. Can someone show me how well this can be corrected through software and any other realistic enhancements that can be done and what software you used to achieve it?

2295297966_b5cd0e969a_b.jpg

Actually I personally don't feel as if it is really all that over-exposed, especially for a shot with a lot of snow in it. The image is a little flat maybe, that could easily be fixed with an increase in contrast in photoshop or any other image processing software.

this isn't overexposed. Maybe crop out the little blown out piece of sky in the left upper corner and you're good to go and ad contrast and such to your liking.

pascal

It isn't overexposed. A tiny crop and two equally tiny steps in Photoshop make this a very nice, all normal exposed, well constrasted, colourful photograph:

Step 1 (after the cropping, which I did not document):
RockDawg_step1.jpg

A tiny tweak of the levels, but really very little only, and applied to a selected part of the photo only, leaving the other part all alone: shadows from 0 to 10 and midtones down from 1,00 to 0,90.

With that, everything could have been considered totally all right and ok and all, but I thought, why not bring out the colours of those reddish trees a bit more, so I took to Step 2:
RockDawg_step2.jpg

I upped saturation for the REDs only from 0 to 20.

Here you are, what do you say?

RockDawg_2295297966_b5cd0e969a_b.jpg

Here's a wild edit, I tried changing the color of the water.

web2295297966b5cd0e969ayf3.png

My steps
~ Image> adjustments> shadow/highlight> highlights 100%
~ Fiter> sharpen> Unsharp mask> amt. 29%/ radius 7.1 pixels