What Computer do you use for Photoshop?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Stef_T, Feb 7, 2005.

?

What Computer do you use for Photoshop?

  1. Mac

    7 vote(s)
    17.5%
  2. Intel

    17 vote(s)
    42.5%
  3. AMD

    16 vote(s)
    40.0%
  1. Stef_T

    Stef_T TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd apreciate if you could tell me what computer you use for photoshop, and what is your experience with it. Please also tell me your specs.

    I would like to refrain from turing this into a flame war, but I would apreciate if you told me how do you find your computer now (good/bad/planning on getting a new one) and why you picked that one as opposed to something else.

    Thank you all for your time.

    Stefan
     
  2. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I built my own pc for photoshop. My experience with it, is that it's phenomonal. It's a P4 2.8 HT with 2 gigs of ram, a 160 gig SATA hd, and a 250 gig SATA hd. I have two Dell Trinitron FD monitors, one 21", and one 19". I won't be needed another computer for a while. I will probably add another 2 gigs of ram eventually, which will max it out.

    I built my own because it's cheaper, and I got exactly what I wanted. In the past, before building my own, I had good experience with Dell.
     
  3. Force of Nature

    Force of Nature TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lancaster University(!), UK
    AMD Why pay more. I personally have never had any problems what so ever with my custom built AMD. I have used AMD ever since I built my own PC way back in 2000. My current system is aging abit now, Its an XP 1800+ with not alot of ram. But it runs nice enough.
     
  4. darich

    darich TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Near Lanark, Scotland
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I run an AMD 2600XP with 1gb of RAM. Upgraded a few months ago and I think the RAM makes a massive difference.
    No plans to change in the near future
     
  5. Patrick

    Patrick TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Xenia, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    2.4 ghz Sony Viao with 1 gig of ram. No problems. Although the home built one does perk my interest.

    My Laptop has 512 of ram and I can tell a BIG difference when I work between the two.
     
  6. Chase

    Chase I am now benign! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,810
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Deep in the heart of Texas!
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Another AMD user here, always have had great luck with them and still enjoying it. Mine is a Athlon 64 3000+ with 512 megs (keep saying I'm going to upgrade to a gig, but haven't dont it yet).
     
  7. Kodan_Txips

    Kodan_Txips TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    AMD 3200, 1 gig of ram, FX5600 graphics card, For photoshop I think it's better to save money on the cpu, and spend it on memory, or on extra HD space, if you are a real photoshop tweaker.
     
  8. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    FYI

    I've got a Dell with 3.4GHz Intel, 1Gb of RAM, 512Mb separate graphics (can't remember the OEM), 80Gb Western Digital SATA HDD (which replaced the Maxtor one which blew up on week 2 of ownership!!) 21" Dell Ultrasharp Flat Panel Monitor (which is brilliant). I run a personally hardened and service reduced copy of XP with SP1, no AV, no unneccessary memory resident programs (like messenger). My other machine is a 7yo Dell XPS P350 with woefully low specs which still does the job and takes over in emergencies.
     
  9. SWFLA1

    SWFLA1 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    AMD on the laptop
    Intel on the desktop

    I use both with ps... haven't noticed a bit of difference between them..
     
  10. Scurra

    Scurra TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I built my own as well, I'm another AMD user and I have a shuttle which limits what I can get in it but i run a 1.8 Ghz XP, 1 gig of RAM and a 40GB hard drive, I also have a ATI Radeon 9800pro cos I do a lot of 3d work....
     
  11. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    While Photoshop loves ram, it uses processor time quite a bit, for most of it's calculations. Ram is taken up by multilayer images, and some filters, but mostly image size. Photoshop is a mulit-threaded program also, to take advantage of mulitple processors. The proc definitely matters.
     
  12. doxx

    doxx TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    Apple Mac - Dual G4 1.25 GHz with 2GB RAM
    80 GB work hard drive, 160 GB archive hard drive
    OS/X plenty fast, rock solid
     

Share This Page