What digital camera and lens would you recommend for a photo like this

sdlogan9

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello -

I need to reproduce many photo's every day similar to this one or even better would be awesome!. what Camera and Lens would you recommend me to get if this is all I need to do. Quality photo is my objective. I dont need video or any fast moving sports photo capabilities.

Please recommend me a few options in different price ranges.. even a few different brands/models

Although I am really liking the Nikon stuff. Ultimately what lens to choose is where I am struggling the most. I will be shooting the subject from about 3 feet away. And I want nice bokeh.

I need specific model numbers for the lens and camera as I am a beginner.

I did purchase Lightroom 5 already.

Please do not post images to which you do not hold rights. You my post a link.

-Shane

Last edited by a moderator:
Any DSLR with a kit or prime lens will do. There's nothing earth - shattering about the image.

60mm tamron f/2 macro portrait hybrid with a nikon d3300

there's nothing special about the photo, you can get that without post processing. that looks to be somewhere around the f/2 range, so a 50mm 1.8 should be enough (three feet away is ~1 meter so maybe an 85mm f/1.4 or a small zoom). with Nikon I'd assume you could buy a cheap body and then get really nice vintage glass with bigger apertures at the same focal length for a fraction of the costs of modern lens (I'm assuming you don't mind going into post because you bought Lightroom).

feel free to correct me, I'm not well versed in Nikon lens (particularly maximum aperture values). those just happen to pop up as comparisons for Canon lens.

What is it about the photo you're trying to reproduce?