What DSLR to get? Canon, Nikon or Sony

JonnyBoy6600

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, i am new here to this forum and i have one burning question in my mind, WHAT DSLR TO GET? i was given my grandad's Minolta Dynax SLR as i like just taking photos of anything, so i have been using that for about two months now and the photos i have produced are good (i think) but i am getting irritated with having to scan my photos so i can put them on to my mac (i know when you can get them developed you can have them on disk but it costs an extra £4 each disc). So im now looking for a digital SLR so i can just connect it up to my laptop and upload them (quicker and easier), but im confused with which one to get, i first looked at the Sony A200, then the Nikon D40 and D60 but now im thinking of either the Canon EOS 400D or EOS 450D. Im mainly looking for one that has a big screen, good megapixels, wide range of interchangeable lenses, high FPS for bursts of shots and really any other good factor. I have around £300-£450 to spend could stretch to more if needed. So i was wondering in your minds what do you think i should get?

if u want a big screen and high FPS
look at a used Canon 30D very good camera from what ive heard/seen
can be had for £300 ish used with a good kit lens and maybe a cheap telephoto in the near future

Im mainly looking for one that has a big screen, good megapixels, wide range of interchangeable lenses, high FPS for bursts of shots and really any other good factor.

Well every camera you listed has these features. What you need to do is stop looking at specs on the internet and go to the local camera store and look at them.
Hold each of them, play with the controls and see what fits you best. Everyone here had to do the same thing at some point in time. There is no clear winner, every camera has advantages and disadvantages.

Go hold them, if it is the right fit you will know.