What enlarger to get?

Discussion in 'The Darkroom' started by tossik, Jul 6, 2007.

1. tossik

tossik TPF Noob!

im new to film and developing... well ive ben looking on ebay for enlargers and there asre just so many different types, i just dont know which one to get... i just wanna do B/W for now, but maybe color in the future so i dont know... i read that a nikorr 50mm lest is a must for good quality but want to know what the 120mm lenses are used for? any help would be great.

thanks, tolik

2. jstuedle

jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I like the Bessler 23c. It is a true, proven performer and built like a tank. The 50mm is used for 35mm, the 75mm is for 120 film (medium format).

3. tossik

tossik TPF Noob!

what lens should i get .. i read that the nikon EL is good one... should i get it or is there a better one?

4. jstuedle

jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I can only speak to what I have/had. The Nikon is my best lens. I used it fot many years.

5. ann

ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    you need to consider which formats you are now shooting and which you may want to do in the future. The Beseler 23C mentioned above is a very nice enlarger; however if you ever want to print 4x5 negatives that enlarger will not support that format.

A Beseler 45 will.

There are several well built enlargers available for very little money these days, and the age of the enlarger if cared for doesn't make much difference.

There are Omega D's ; and old work horse , found in many pro printing shops. Omega-Satter LPL are very stable and a nice piece of equipment.

There are a variety of lightsources that can be switch out with the older enlargers i.e. cold light heads , color heads and condesnor heads.
    A color head can be used for black and white, and since you have indicated you may do color in the future that is something to seriously think about.