What film to use?

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by Muffinabus, Oct 15, 2008.

1. Muffinabus

Muffinabus TPF Noob!

I have a basic idea of film speeds now, but I've no clue what the difference is between the film, ha, if that makes any sense. I want to get decent quality shots, but when looking around at my local convenience stores I see what looks like just general film for the everyday point and shoot camera user. Is there anything I should look out for when purchasing color film?

Right now I'm looking to buy a roll of ISO 400 color 35mm film, I plan on going to Chicago tomorrow to work on some street photography and get some people shots in as well, so I wanted the faster speed for the easier candid shots and whatnot (it'll probably be mid-late day, partly cloudy). I know it probably isn't TOO wise to try for more 'professional' expensive film when I'm still learning, but I want to get a feel for it at the same time and see what I can really do with my ol' Canon A-1. Any suggestions?

2. rom4n301

rom4n301 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    id go with kodak ultramax 400for wat u need.. ive been wanting to try out that new kodak film tho ektar 100 or at least see some shots takin with it. B/W if ur ever ganna do nature shots.. use slide film, it has way better colors in my opinion. but the down side is the exposure latitude is less

3. rom4n301

rom4n301 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    yea.. forgot to add. kodak ultramax 400 is definitely the best i can think of thats not pro. and its pretty good, i use it all the time when i dont feel like paying crazy money for slide film

4. christopher walrath

christopher walrath No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit