What have I gotten into?

BoltAction

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I just got me a Canon XSi. I am not a professional nor trying to be. I spend a lot of time hiking and outdoors. I want to take better pictures than I am now with my point and shoot.

I've been doing some research and finding this stuff is way over my head right now.

How bout a little help? What do I need to really get started taking some great outdoor photos? I'm not looking to spend a fortune at the moment. But I would like to upgrade the lens without draining my bank account. Maybe add some accessories if I have $ left over.

Thanks for the help guys.

Stage one slow down and stop - get yourself a copy of Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson and get a decent understanding of exposures and controling the camera. This will unlock a lot of the potential of the camera to create and capture great images and the book also gives some good creative ideas that you can experiment and work with.
Getting these early building blocks of understanding is a key step otherwise a lot of lens and gear suggestions will be asking you to make choices when you don't quite know enough of the experience to really be able to make the choice.

I would also advise that you try to work out what sort of images it is that you like to or want to be able to capture - since the most important thing for gear selection is that it meets your needs (and budget of course). Everyone is indevidual and will lean toward certain different requirements

Stage one slow down and stop - get yourself a copy of Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson and get a decent understanding of exposures and controling the camera. This will unlock a lot of the potential of the camera to create and capture great images and the book also gives some good creative ideas that you can experiment and work with.